Njookenbooroo, is associated with an Aboriginal name for Herdsman Lake or a nearby wetland, and was the original name of the suburb of Innaloo. The name is recorded with several variants, like Nookenburra, Ngurgenboro, Noorgenborawas, and was deemed too difficult to pronounce and spell. The name was changed to Innaloo, which is attributed to anthropologist Daisy Bates, as an aboriginal word for ‘Native women’. Nearby Birralee Park was named for aboriginal children. The Education Department attained land in 1915 and built the Njookenbooroo School on the north east corner of Odin Road.
In 1927 the Local Progress Association requested the suburb name be changed to ‘Innaloo’. Mr George Geneff donated land and monies to establish the retirement village 'Geneff Village', Innaloo. He also installed a memorial to the local pioneers, and the aboriginal people of the area, in the carpark of the Nookenburra Hotel. The hotel was demolished and the Nookenburra plinth is now permanently located and on display at the Mount Flora Regional Museum.